top of page

The Best Season From Every NFC East Team

NFC Best Teams
© RVR Photos-USA TODAY Sports

There have been several great teams throughout the history of the NFL. Every team has had its share of highlight moments, dream seasons and dominant performances.

This is the fifth installment of every NFL team's best season by division, now with the NFC East.

Dallas Cowboys: 1992

A strong case can be made for the 1971 Dallas Cowboys, a team that featured eight Hall of Fame players. But as good as that Cowboys team was, it's impossible to go against the 1992 Cowboys, a team that also featured a slew of Hall of Fame talent. Led by their Hall of Fame offensive trio of quarterback Troy Aikman, running back Emmitt Smith and receiver Michael Irvin, Dallas averaged nearly 39 points per game during the '92 playoffs.

In Super Bowl XXVII, the Cowboys scored 52 points behind a spectacular showing from Super Bowl MVP Aikman, who threw 4 touchdowns while completing 70 percent of his passes. The Buffalo Bills' explosive offense was held in check by a dominant Cowboys' defense that featured Hall-of-Fame pass rusher Charles Haley, linebacker Ken Norton Jr., and safety Darren Woodson. 

New York Giants: 1986

After dropping their season opener in Dallas, the New York Giants would lose just one more game during the rest of the '86 season. In the playoffs, the Giants walloped Joe Montana and the San Francisco 49ers, 49-3, before shutting out Washington in the NFC Championship Game. In Super Bowl XXI, New York trailed 10-9 at halftime before outscoring the Denver Broncos 30-10 in the second half en route to a 39-20 victory.

NFC Best Team
© Bob Deutsch-USA TODAY Sports

Game MVP Phil Simms enjoyed a historic outing, completing a record 88 percent of his pass attempts for 268 yards and 3 touchdowns.

The Giants' dominant defense included four Pro Bowlers in defensive ends Jim Burt and Leonard Marshall, and linebackers Harry Carson and Lawrence Taylor (that year's Defensive Player of the Year and MVP).

Philadelphia Eagles: 1960

The Philadelphia Eagles only made the postseason once from 1950-77, but made the most of that one appearance. Hall-of-Fame quarterback Norm Van Brocklin was traded from the Los Angeles Rams to Philadelphia in 1958 and won MVP in 1960. They started the regular season 9-0 before losing the finale to Washington.

The Eagles’ offense featured two Hall-of-Famers in Van Brocklin and running back Tommy McDonald. They also had a Hall of Famer on defense in linebacker Chuck Bednarik. Buck Shaw’s squad finished third in scoring and seventh in points allowed. Philadelphia’s performance against Vince Lombardi and the Green Bay Packers in the NFL Championship Game put this squad on the map. 

Washington: 1991

Coach Joe Gibbs' third Super Bowl title team breezed through the regular season, losing just 2 games by a combined 5 points. Washington ran through the Atlanta Falcons (24-7) and Detroit Lions (41-10) in the playoffs before coasting to a 37-24 win over the Bills in Super Bowl XXVI. Quarterback Mark Rypien (291 yards, 2 touchdowns) won the game's MVP award. He had extreme success throwing the ball to receivers Gary Clark and Art Monk, who combined to catch 14 passes for 227 yards and a touchdown against the Bills' formidable defense.

Rypien received sturdy protection from a talented offensive line that was nicknamed “The Hogs.” They included left tackle Jim Lachey, center Jeff Bostic, right guard Mark Schlareth and right tackle Joe Jacoby. Washington's defense, led by defensive ends Charles Mann and Fred Stokes, along with defensive backs Darrell Green and Brad Edwards, forced 5 Buffalo turnovers. That included 4 picks of Bills quarterback Jim Kelly. Washington's defense also held Thurman Thomas, the league's MVP that season, to just 13 yards on 10 carries.


Michigan Football
Blue Screen
bottom of page