top of page

2 Alabama Players Named to 2024 Lott IMPACT Trophy Watchlist

Alabama Lott Trophy Watchlist
© Austin American-Statesman-USA TODAY NETWORK

The Lott IMPACT Trophy is the only national award in college football that focuses on a defensive player's character and athletic skills, both on and off the field. The six pillars of the Lott IMPACT Trophy are Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity.

The Southeastern Conference has 13 players on the 2024 watchlist, the most of any Power Four conference, and includes two Alabama Crimson Tide players.

Lott IMPACT Trophy Watchlist for 2024

 LB Deontae Lawson

Of the players returning to the Crimson Tide from last year's season, Lawson was the lead tackler and recorded 67 stops in 2023. In addition, Lawson added 5.5 tackles for loss, 3 sacks and 4 pass breakups. Lawson recorded double-digit tackles in two games a season ago: 10 in a 17-3 win over South Florida and 12 in a 34-20 win over Tennessee.

As a semifinalist for the Butkus Award, awarded to the top linebacker in college football, Lawson made 6 tackles and broke up two passes in a loss to Michigan in the College Football Playoff semifinals. In just two seasons, Lawson has racked up 118 career tackles.

S Malachi Moore

This is the second appearance on the Lott Trophy watchlist for Moore. Moore is a four-year starter and will play the 2024 season as a grad student. In 2023, Moore recorded 52 tackles, 5 tackles for loss, broke up five passes and intercepted one.

Moore’s season-high came against USF in which he recorded 8 tackles, 1 INT and 1 TFL in a 17-3 Alabama victory. For his career, Moore has 144 tackles, 5 INTs, 12.5 tackles for loss and 17 pass breakups.

Lawson and Moore represent the No. 10 and No. 11 Alabama players who have appeared on the Lott IMPACT Trophy watchlist since the first award was handed out in 2004. Those Crimson Tide players include:

  • DeMeco Ryans

  • Rolando McClain

  • Don’t’a Hightower

  • Landon Collins

  • Jonathan Allen

  • Minkah Fitzpatrick

  • Patrick Surtain II

  • Will Anderson

  • Dallas Turner

The Lott IMPACT Trophy, named after NFL Hall of Famer Ronnie Lott, is voted on by a voter panel comprised of former winners, media members, coaches and members of the Board of Directors of the IMPACT Foundation, with the winner of the award being announced on Dec. 8.





Michigan Football
Blue Screen
bottom of page